Heritage Cases

Changes to SAHRIS!

The South African Heritage Resources Information System (SAHRIS) has undergone a generational upgrade and restructure. These changes to the site include, but are not limited to:

  • A new & modernised look and layout
  • Improved site usage flows with respect to applications and content creation
  • Improved site performance and stability

Launch for the new version of SAHRIS occurred on Monday the 30th of October 2023.

The new site can be found here:


SAHRA Application Closure

Please note the following concerning applications submitted to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA) during the December 2023 to January 2024 period.

The full notice is available here: Notice

Special Notice

Following comments received on the proposed Revised Schedule of Fees for applications made to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA), made in terms of Section 25(2)(l) of the National Heritage Resources Act No. 25 of 1999 (NHRA) and published in the Government Gazette of 22 July 2022, SAHRA hereby publishes the final Revised Schedule of Fees for Applications made to SAHRA. Applications for provision of services submitted to the South African Heritage Resources Authority (SAHRA), in terms of the National Heritage Resources Act, No. 25 of 1999 (NHRA) must be accompanied by a payment of the appropriate fee, taking effect from 1 January 2023

Revised Schedule of Fees for Applications made to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA)






Development Type: 


The authorised ABO Wind Lichtenburg 2 PV solar energy facility (‘the project’) is located 10km north of Lichtenburg and 7.5km south of Bakerville in the North West Province. The project is located within Ward 16 of the Ditsobotla Local Municipality and the Ngaka Modiri Molema District Municipality in the North West Province. The development footprint of the solar energy facility is located on Portion 23 of Farm Houthaalboomen No. 31 and the Remaining Extent of Portion 2 of Farm Zamenkomst No.4. It is within these properties that Lichtenburg 2 will be constructed and operated. The following infrastructure was authorised for the project by DFFE, as fully assessed within the Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) process: Photovoltaic modules with a net generation (contracted) capacity of 100MW; On-site 88/132kV substation; Mounting structures (fixed tilt/static, single-axis or double-axis tracking systems) for the PV arrays and related foundations; DC/AC Inverters, LV/MV power transformers and internal electrical reticulation (underground cabling); A new 88/132kV overhead power line from the on-site substation to the Mmabatho / Watershed DS 1 88kV Power Line; Access and internal road network; Temporary laydown area; Auxiliary buildings (gate-house and security, control centre, office, two warehouses, canteen & visitors centre, rainwater tanks, etc); Perimeter fencing; and Battery Energy Storage System (BESS), with a capacity of up to 500MW/500MWh, an extent of no more than 5ha, and a maximum height of 3.5m1. The amendment being applied for through this process relates to the following: a change in the capacity of the step-up/on-site substation from 88/132kV to 33/132kV; an extension to the authorised Loop-in/Loop-out (LILO) grid connection corridor, within an assessed area to allow Lichtenburg 2 PV to connect to the collector substation complex on Lichtenburg 3 PVs authorized property/footprint; and a substitution of the wording in the EA, ‘a new 132kV overhead power line from the on-site substation to the Mmabatho/Watershed DS 1 88kV power line’, with, ‘a new 132kV power line from Lichtenburg 2 PV’s step-up/on-site substation to the proposed collector substation complex on Lichtenburg 3 PV’. Considering the above, it should be noted that the 132kV power line to be constructed from the step-up/on-site substation will terminate at the collector substation complex proposed on the authorised footprint for Lichtenburg 3 PV. This collector substation complex will be the point where all the electricity from Lichtenburg 2 PV and other projects2 is collected and is evacuated via a 132kV power line to the Eskom Watershed Substation. Thus, only one 132kV power line will be built from this collector substation complex terminating at the Eskom Watershed Substation.


Friday, April 15, 2022 - 11:10







Search form