Heritage Cases

Changes to SAHRIS!

The South African Heritage Resources Information System (SAHRIS) has undergone a generational upgrade and restructure. These changes to the site include, but are not limited to:

  • A new & modernised look and layout
  • Improved site usage flows with respect to applications and content creation
  • Improved site performance and stability

Launch for the new version of SAHRIS occurred on Monday the 30th of October 2023.

The new site can be found here:


SAHRA Application Closure

Please note the following concerning applications submitted to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA) during the December 2023 to January 2024 period.

The full notice is available here: Notice

Special Notice

Following comments received on the proposed Revised Schedule of Fees for applications made to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA), made in terms of Section 25(2)(l) of the National Heritage Resources Act No. 25 of 1999 (NHRA) and published in the Government Gazette of 22 July 2022, SAHRA hereby publishes the final Revised Schedule of Fees for Applications made to SAHRA. Applications for provision of services submitted to the South African Heritage Resources Authority (SAHRA), in terms of the National Heritage Resources Act, No. 25 of 1999 (NHRA) must be accompanied by a payment of the appropriate fee, taking effect from 1 January 2023

Revised Schedule of Fees for Applications made to the South African Heritage Resources Agency (SAHRA)

St Faiths Substations and powerlines





Development Type: 


The proposed St. Faiths Sub-station on the KwaZulu-Natal South Coast forms part of Eskom’s KZN Strengthening Programme and will provide contingency capacity to the region as well as improve service quality and reliability. The proposed sub-station is to be located north of Port Shepstone, close to the previously authorised corridor for the Ariadne-Eros 400/132 kV Transmission Line. This will require linking corridors to accommodate the 1 x 400 kV and 1 x 400/132 kV double–circuit loop-in and loop-out transmission lines (to connect to the authorised Eskom Ariadne-Eros 400/132 kV Multicircuit Transmission Line) and 8 x 132 kV loop-in and loop-out distribution lines (which will connect to the existing Idwala/Oribi 132 KV and Bendigo/Oribi 132 kV Distribution Lines). A locality map is provided in Figure 1. The study area falls within an area that was previously investigated in detail by specialists for the proposed construction of the Eskom Ariadne-Eros 400/132 kV Multi-circuit Power Line Project.


Thursday, November 13, 2014 - 11:34






Search form